IEEE Global Communications Conference
4–8 December 2022 // Rio de Janeiro, Brazil // Hybrid: In-Person and Virtual Conference
Accelerating the Digital Transformation through Smart Communications

Best Paper Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of the GLOBECOM 2022 Best Paper Awards. Thesepapers were selected as the result of a rigorous process that considered the nearly 1,100 papers that were accepted from the nearly 2,800. 

A total of 16 papers were selected for the “IEEE GLOBECOM 2022 Best Paper Award”. Among these 16 papers, 13 papers are from the 12 Symposia (one paper from each Symposium except that 2 papers are from the Wireless Communications Symposium [WCS]), and 3 papers are from the 13 SAC Tracks (1 paper from the SAC – Machine Learning for Communications [MLC] Track and 2 papers from the rest of the 12 Tracks).  

From the 12 Symposia, 26 papers (2 papers from each Symposium, except the WCS, from which 4 papers) were nominated by the Symposia Co-Chairs and/or TPC Chair. From the 13 SAC Tracks, 12 papers (1 paper from each Track, except the MLC Track, from which 2 papers) were nominated by the Track Chair/Co-Chairs. Therefore, the total number of nominated papers were 40 (26 papers from the Symposia and 14 papers from the SAC Tracks). 

The nominated papers were grouped into 7 groups (with a maximum of 6 papers in each group), and each group of papers was assigned to at least 2 of the Award Committee Members. The best paper(s) from the Symposia and the SAC Tracks were selected based on the rankings of the Award Committee Members along with the initial ranking provided during nominations.



Chairs: Octavia A. Dobre and  Ekram Hossain

Alberto Leon-Garcia
Ayfer Ozgur
Aylin Yener
Biswanath Mukherjee
Carla Fabiana-Chiasserini
Elza Erkip
Erik Larsson
Kin K Leung
Martin Reisslein
Michela Meo
Naofal Al-Dhahir
Osvaldo Simeone
Philippa Martin
Wenjing Lou


CISS Symposium

PPsky: Privacy-Preserving Skyline Queries with Secret Sharing in eHealthcare
Songnian Zhang, Suprio Ray, Rongxing Lu, and Yunguo Guan

CQRM Symposium

A Novel Sybil Attack Detection Mechanism for Mobile IoT Networks
Seda Dogan-Tusha, Saud Althunibat, and Marwa Qaraqe

CRN Symposium

An Unsupervised Learning Approach for Spectrum Allocation in Terahertz Communication Systems
Akram Shafie, Chunhui Li, Nan Yang, Xiangyun Zhou, and Trung Q. Duong

CSM Symposium

Grey Wolf Optimizer for Reducing Communication Cost of Federated Learning
Ammar Kamal Abasi, Moayad Aloqaily, and Mohsen Guizani

CT Symposium

Thermal Conduction as a Wireless Communication Channel
Ruth G. Gebremedhin and Thomas L. Marzetta

GCSN Symposium

AHP4HPA: An AHP-based Autoscaling Framework for Kubernetes Clusters at the Network Edge
Ioannis Dimolitsas, Dimitrios Spatharakis, Dimitrios Dechouniotis, Symeon Papavassiliou

MWN Symposium

Defending Against DDOS Attacks on IoT Network Throughput: A Trust-Stackelberg Game Model
Chunyang Qi, Jie Huang, Cheng Huang, Huaqing Wu and Xuemin (Sherman) Shen

NGNI Symposium

A Novel Intrusion Detection System for Next Generation In-Vehicle NetworksA Novel Intrusion Detection System for Next Generation In-Vehicle Networks
Zhouyan Deng, Yijie Xun, Jiajia Liu, Shouqing Li, Yilin Zhao

IoTSN Symposium

Real-time Optimal Multibeam and Power Allocation in 5G Satellite–Terrestrial IoT Networks
Trung Q. Duong, Long D. Nguyen, Tinh T. Bui, and Khanh D. Pham

ONS Symposium

Design Tradeoffs of Non-Imaging Angle Diversity Receivers for 6G Optical Wireless Access Networks
Elham Sarbazi, Hossein Kazemi, Mohammad Dehghani Soltani, Majid Safari and Harald Haas

SPC Symposium

SemAudio: Semantic-Aware Streaming Communications for Real-Time Audio Transmission
Hao Wei, Wenjun Xu, Fengyu Wang, Xin Du, Tiankui Zhang, and Ping Zhang

WC Symposium

RSMA for Dual-Polarized Massive MIMO Networks: A SIC-Free Approach
Arthur S. de Sena, Pedro H. J. Nardelli, Daniel B. da Costa, Petar Popovski, Constantinos B. Papadias, Merouane Debbah
Vandermonde Constrained Tensor Decomposition for Hybrid Beamforming in Multi-Carrier MIMO Systems
Mohamed Salah Ibrahim, Akshay Malhotra, Mihaela Beluri, Arnab Roy, and Shahab Hamidi-Rad

SAC Track

UAV Communications in Integrated Terrestrial and Non-terrestrial Networks
Mohamed Benzaghta, Giovanni Geraci, Rasoul Nikbakht♭, and David López-Pérez
Realization of Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface-Based Index Modulation Transmission
Jia Liu, Wankai Tang, Xiangyu Chen, Jun Chen Ke, Shi Jin, Fu-Chun Zheng, Qiang Cheng, Tie Jun Cui


Grid-less mmWave Beam Alignment through Deep Learning
Yuqiang Heng and Jeffrey G. Andrews

Platinum Patrons

Gold Patrons

Bronze Patrons

Supporting Sponsors